Certified Service Manager™ (CSM) Program

Updated April 1, 2015

CSM Introduction from Guy Gordon, ICCS Executive Director

What is the Certified Service Manager™ (CSM) Program?

The Certified Service Manager (CSM) designation is the first of its kind in Canada. Its aim is to provide a professional standard for public sector service delivery by equipping certification holders with the language, conceptual tools, and best practices that have been informed by the ICCS’s world-class research efforts and the expertise gathered from a wide array of senior service leaders from across the country, at all levels of government.

The Certified Service Manager (CSM) Program is a certification and learning program designed for public sector service managers and supervisors who are responsible for managing direct service delivery as well as their internal counterparts (i.e., IT, Administrative Services, and others in the corporate service sector).  It is the first national service certification program built by the public service for the public service. The CSM Program offers a vehicle through which a service manager’s or supervisor’s work can be professionally recognized and it also provides a consistent professional standard for public sector service delivery across all jurisdictions.

Why Should You Participate in the CSM Program?

  • The CSM Program recognizes service delivery as a profession and establishes a standard for public sector service delivery.
  • The Program enhances your learning and reinforces your commitment to citizen-centred service delivery.
  • You have the opportunity to be involved and network with a community of learners from all orders of government and who are committed to improving citizen-centred service.
  • You can participate in courses that have been developed by senior members of the Canadian Service Delivery Community.
  • The courses reflect the learnings obtained through the ICCS’ current survey research and the CSM Body of Knowledge.
  • Learning is customizable and flexible; you create your unique learning path that meets your learning needs and leverages your current knowledge and experience.
  • The Program promotes a shared culture of service excellence across all orders of government.

What is the CSM Body of Knowledge (CSMBoK?)

The CSM Program is founded on the key knowledge areas identified in the Certified Service Manager Body of Knowledge (CSMBoK). The CSMBoK is designed to provide learners with the latest and most important developments in public sector service delivery, and thus serves to enhance improvements by making them more citizen-centric.  Those who apply for candidacy in the CSM Program receive a copy of the CSMBoK as part of the registration fee.

If you are interested in learning how to make improvements to service delivery more citizen-centred, and are committed to doing your part to recognize service delivery as the bona fide profession that it is, please fill out a CSM Certification application form and begin your journey to professional recognition and career development. To complete the Certification Program Application, click here.

Certified Service Manager™/Basic Introductory Brochure

Please download our 4-page introductory brochure for the CSM/Basic Program, and feel free to distribute it to those who may be interested in professional development or certification opportunities. Files are PDF and available in both official languages.

Certified Service Manager™/Basic Introductory Brochure

Services at a Glance

  • ICCS Inc.
  • © Copyright